Stand

Stand

Stand. One word. Stand. I hear the word in the silence. Stand. There is urgency in the word. Stand. There is faith in the word. Stand.

We have spent the last 30-45 minutes listening to a couple’s testimony. Of a wife who has survived brain cancer. A husband who stood by her, but knew that his wife belongs to her heavenly Father, and trusted Him to carry her through the journey. A couple whose faith, prayer, relationships blossomed in this journey. Hope.

The couple is about to pray over anyone in need, but especially anyone in need of healing. There is power in prayer. Power from people who have been there and are now on the other side. Our pastor asks people to stand, if you are in need…any need…but especially healing..

Stand. I hear the lone word spoken behind me. To those who do not know my Uncle Paul…or those who have not had the opportunity to stop and learn to hear his words…it likely was just an out of place sound…in the silence. But to his wife, his family, his friends, it was a powerful word. A cry of faith. Stand.

When his own brain cancer took his words, the only time I can ever remember my Aunt Susan asking for anything was when she said, “I miss his voice. I miss talking with him. Everything else I can handle. But I miss his words.”

Stand. One word with so much power. Stand for me when I can’t. Stand with me when I can. Stand beside me always. Stand.

So she stood. My Aunt Susan. A woman with so much faith, strength, integrity, love…A woman with the faith I long to have. I strive to have. A woman who says, this is what God has for us, there is a reason. A quiet woman, who asks for nothing, who gives everything.

And so we kneel. My husband, my daughters, and I. We kneel with our hands laid on our aunt and uncle. We kneel and pray. Out loud. Silently. We pray for healing. We pray for strength. We pray for peace.

And I…I pray for words. I pray for the one thing my aunt has asked for. I pray for healing, but mostly for words. For more conversations between a husband and wife who are devoted to each other…who are devoted to God…who are devoted to their family.

And, in kneeling, we stand. We stand with them in prayer…in faith…in hope.

Stand.

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
Image | This entry was posted in facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

