When I Don’t Know What To Do

When I Don't Know What To Do

Sometimes I need that song to run through my head, continuously, on repeat. So I don’t forget.

When I don’t know what to do
(I’ll lift my hands)
When I don’t know what to say
(I’ll speak Your praise)
When I don’t know where to go
(I’ll run to Your throne)
When I don’t know what to think
(I’ll stand on Your truth)
When I don’t know what to do

So many times I pray for God to show me what I’m supposed to do, what I’m supposed to say, how I should act/react/not react. What direction should I be moving in, what decisions should I make and should I make them now or wait…

I don’t like to make decisions. I’m not good at making them and I second guess myself a lot. Sometimes even deciding where to go for dinner leaves me close to tears, just wanting my husband to decide for us.

Life decisions are so much harder. And even trying to pray for those decisions can get hard. Because I don’t know what to say. And I forget that it’s ok to not say anything. To just sit quietly and wait. To remember just how much God has brought me through. Situations that were hopeless in my mind…obstacles that I could not have overcome by myself. Times when I had given up. And in my giving up, God took over and provided. Not always in ways that I was expecting…and not always what I wanted. But always for my good. Whether I realized it at the time or later on down the road.

So while I remember to be in constant prayer about life decisions, I have to remind myself to be patient. Not to be in such a hurry for an answer. I still stress while I wait, and sometimes try to make a solution where there is none. But I am learning that when I am patient, when I let God truly have control of my decisions, things eventually fall in to place the right way. Me forcing things to happen on my timeline is almost always a predicter of failure.

So I pray. And ask others to pray with me. Mostly I ask them to pray for my patience…and for me to not be so stubborn that I can’t hear God’s answer because I’m too wrapped up in my own answers.

And I remind myself to be thankful, whatever the answer is, whenever the answer comes. And when it comes, I scold myself for stressing over it so much, because usually it’s out of my hands. Yes, I have to listen and not sit idle while I wait, but worrying over it didn’t fix things any faster…it didn’t make the wait easier or the decision clearer…if anything, it clouded my mind with what-if’s instead of filling my mind with God’s will.

Not knowing can be scary. But God knows the plans He has for us. Knowing that brings peace. I just have to remember what I know…

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
Image | This entry was posted in facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I Don’t Know What To Do

  1. “God took over and provided. Not always in ways that I was expecting…and not always what I wanted. But always for my good.” Yes!! God has come through for me so many times and it was always in the most unlikely and unexpected way. We know we can always count on Him to be there for us! 🙂 Great post!

  2. Thanks Anna! I have a feeling I will be reading this one over a few times to remind myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

