It’s Official Release Day!

20130724-223744.jpg

I can’t believe it’s here! The official release date for “My So-Called Life As A Submissive Wife” by Sara Horn! I may have stayed up pretty late last night making sure my reviews were on the four major sites 🙂

I have been so privileged to be on the My Wife Life Street Team, which is a group of ladies hand picked by Sara herself to discuss, promote and support not only the book, but the women who are reading the book.

Submissiveness in marriage is such an important and (sadly) misunderstood command from God. The Bible  tells us, in Ephesians 5:22-24 (ESV): Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife even as Christ is the head of the church, his body, and is himself its Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit in everything to their husbands.

Another place in the Bible says it like this, 1 Peter, 3:1 (ESV): Likewise, wives, be subject to your own husbands, so that even if some do not obey the word, they may be won without a word by the conduct of their wives…

Being a submissive wife does not mean having no voice, no opinion, no thoughts of your own. It doesn’t mean you always want the same things your husband wants. It doesn’t mean your husband is always right and you are always wrong.

Being a submissive wife means first submitting to God and His will for your life. Once you understand that submitting to your husband is God’s plan in your marriage, and that submitting to your husband is submitting to God, shouldn’t that be our heart’s desire? To submit to God, not just in our marriages, but in every aspect of our life?

I have heard, even in church circles, “Don’t say the “S” word!”…That makes me sad. For our women, our men, our children, our families…our future generations. We are basically saying, this part of God’s command doesn’t apply to me. We have taken society’s version of submissiveness and decided God doesn’t really intend for today’s wife to submit to her husband. That was then. This is now.

This book is such an important read. For new brides who are just starting out their married life. For wives who are 15 years in. For wives who just celebrated their 40th anniversary. For moms to model healthy submissiveness to their daughters. For dads to model healthy leading to their sons.

Submissiveness will look different in every marriage. No two marriages are identical. We all have different struggles, obstacles, life situations…But when our deepest desire is to submit to God, submission to our husbands, however that looks in your marriage, will become clearer the more you work at it.

So, buy the book. Borrow the book. WIN the book (Sara is giving away lots of copies this month) – Sara is giving away a copy to one of my blog readers on August 6th! Check sarahorn.com for other blog giveaways too!

Read it, then read it again. Then pass it on. It’s important. It’s relevant. It will change your marriage if you let it. Not the book itself. But the concepts, the stories…the knowing it’s hard and you may will fail…and succeed…and just knowing there are other wives out there going through similar struggles with it. And as long as you keep trying, as long as we—you—I—start the conversations with other wives—it can stop being the forbidden word.

It starts with one less wife being unafraid to say “I am working on becoming a submissive wife.” I’m doing it because I love God and I love my husband and I love my family. I’m doing it as much for me as for my husband. it’s not a dirty word. It doesn’t make me less than.

It makes me more.

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

