Why We Give

20130826-215440.jpg

We were studying CR principle 8/ Step 12 at our Monday night Celebrate Recovery group. The lesson was on giving. Why it’s important. Why it’s God’s favorite step.

It was a great lesson but it brought me back to a time not so long ago when I wondered what I could possibly have to give to others.

When life was a mess, when I was in the middle of my storm, my last thought was about helping others. It’s so easy to get self focused. I need. I want. I deserve. Who is going to help me.

It’s not a nice place to be. Selfish. Whiny. Needy. Did I say whiny?

I would spend so much time thinking about how hard my life was or how unfair certain situations were. I was completely inward focused.

And. Sometimes. Just really awful. If a friend tried to talk to me about what was going on in their life, I would listen, say the right words, respond sympathetically…all the while thinking. Really? If she only knew what was going on in my life she wouldn’t think hers is so bad. Or. How can she complain about that when I don’t even know if my husband will have a job tomorrow.

There may have been were worse thoughts—maybe even spoken out loud words—when I was really feeling sorry for myself.

Giving to others was the last thing on my mind.

But that’s exactly what God calls us to do. Get out of your head. Get out of your pity party and look around you.

Who can you give to? Who can you share with? Have you ever been in the middle of a trial in your life and stopped and looked for someone to bless? It’s amazing the feeling you get from being others focused instead of self focused.

Philippians 2:4 Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

