It’s A Wonderful life

Image

 

I love this movie. I haven’t watched it in years, but watching it used to be a sign that Christmas was getting close.

Every time a bell rings, an angel gets his wings.

Or her wings.

It hardly seems possible it’s been just over two years since my grandma got her wings.

This will be our third Christmas without her.

The girls and I went home last week for a few days to see my aunt who is battling bone cancer.

My aunt, who was supposed to be with us for Christmas this year, will be in a hospital instead.

I’ve been preoccupied lately. The past few Christmases have been hard on me. My grandma passing. My grandpa remarrying. Now my aunt fighting cancer. I feel a sadness. A weight I can’t lift.

So I remind myself…It’s a wonderful life.

My grandma has her wings and is celebrating her third Christmas with Jesus! I imagine she’s gotten everyone just about lined out and doing things Roma’s way by now!

My grandpa has a new wife, he’s not lonely, he’s taken care of and happy.

My aunt is fighting. She will win this battle. I know it’s hard, but she is strong and courageous and God’s got this.

Our SPTC tree is lit up, covered in candy canes, and it looks like a lot more gifts than it would under a big tree. The girls are all getting at least one of their “must have” gifts.

My husband is still sober, 16 months now. We even like each other!

I have new friends, a new Forever Family, people who know me and love me anyway.

The husband, our girls and I are blessed with good health, a roof over our heads, good jobs, food to eat, clothes to wear and cars to drive. We have so much more than so many others.

It’s a wonderful life even if it isn’t the life I imagined.

It’s a wonderful life even when it’s hard.

It’s a wonderful life because “For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.” (Luke 2:11)

Yes, if for no other reason, the miracle of Jesus’ birth, God sending His Son to save us, makes it a wonderful life.

Whether you are spending this Christmas at home, with family, traveling, alone, with friends, or strangers, remember the most important gift we can ever receive was unwrapped in a stable and is more precious than anything money can buy.

Merry Christmas Y’all. Be blessed.

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery, facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s A Wonderful life

  1. mary says:

    THank you, thank you, thank you! This post meant the world to me and made me realize that even though this New Year’s Eve looks so different than what I had imagined or hoped for, there are BLESSINGS here and the biggest one if Jesus born in a manger and with me still today!
    Thank you for spreading hope! You are doing God’s work here…

Leave a Reply

