Did You Get That…???

Déjà vu, from French, literally “already seen”, is the phenomenon of having the strong sensation that an event or experience currently being experienced has been experienced in the past, whether it has actually happened or not. ( Wikipedia )

I have ^ that, right up there ^ , a lot. Like, more than most people I think. Possibly because it may sometimes take me more than once to get something through my thick head. Like, I hear ya, but I’m not really sure you’re talking to me. Or, that was a great message — I sure hope “Susie Q” was listening…

So, I think sometimes God tells me things more than once…you know, just to make sure I’m listening. This has been a week for that.

It started Sunday morning. Our pastor is doing an awesome series called “How To Ruin Your Life” (you can watch it here: http://www.firstnlr.com/howtoruinyourlife ) and on the back page of the outline he has this sentence that repeats 4 times. FOUR TIMES y’all! I poked my hubby and said, “Hey, do you think he wants us to get this?”

Embrace God’s plan for my life. He emphasizes a different word each time. We were studying how comparison kills our joy. How we look at other people’s lives or spouses or homes or jobs….and we compare. We compare our weaknesses with their strengths. We compare our reality with their highlight reel (Facebook anyone?)…We think if only we had their life, their husband, their figure, their bank account…

Instead of embracing God’s plan for my life, I ask Him, why? Why do things have to be so hard? Why can’t something be easy, just one time…

Instead of embracing God’s plan for my life, I try to control my circumstances in a weak, unsuccessful attempt to get my life to look the way I dreamed it would…

Instead of embracing God’s plan for my life, I wish I had the life that someone else has…because then I would be happy.

“Comparison is the thief of joy”

I have stolen my own joy. I wonder what life would be like if Rob had stopped drinking before he did. I wonder how our girls would be different if he had a job that enabled me to stay home with them. I wonder if we would be financially stable if we weren’t living in the middle of consequences from bad choices made while living with his addiction. I wonder so many things.

I listened to Pastor Rod. I took his words and buried them deep in my heart. I reminded myself that I have to stop the comparing…the wondering…and then another consequence shows up. One more thing I am left to deal with.

One. More. Thing. When, honestly y’all…I am at the end of my rope. I have no room for one more thing right now. I am broken. Shattered. I have prayed every day…I have begged to be out of this mess we are in. I have told God – this is it right? Because I can’t handle one. more. thing. I just can’t. I don’t have anything left right now and I need a break.

But there it is, happening anyway. And my mind goes there again. And one more time, I am stealing my own joy. As I sat down to write tonight, I opened up WP and I see this ( http://daughterbydesign.wordpress.com/2014/02/19/i-want-what-she-has/ ).

Seriously y’all. This was not even what I was going to write about tonight. But when God puts it right there in front of me, well…I just go with it. Because as stubborn as I am, even I get it…sometimes.

Like what I planned on writing about tonight.

So, Sunday morning I get the comparison thing, over and over…and again today.

Sunday night, God starts working on something else. I get now that they’re connected, but (have I said I’m stubborn?) sometimes it takes me a little while….

So, Pastor Gary is talking Sunday night about growing in God.
P gary outline
And I’m thinking…I’ve heard this before. I get this “Mom Talk” email on Mondays from an awesome writer and it was on this very same thing. So, maybe I’m paying a little more attention. I had forwarded this particular email to some friends because it really spoke to me and I thought it might encourage them too.

So he’s talking about picking a book in the Bible and making a plan to read every day. And out of the blue (not really, but at the time, I thought so) Nehemiah pops in to my head…so I wrote it on my paper.

nehemiah pic

Sunday goes on, Monday rolls around and I’m checking my email…

SLpic

Yeah, it happened. So I click on it, start reading and all of a sudden I’m like, ok God, got it. This is where you want me to start. (You can check it out here – she is an awesome blogger and you really should follow her: http://servantslife.com/2014/02/17/what-nehemiah-can-teach-us-about-motherhood/ ).

So I’m reading Nehemiah and I read weird. I kind of speed read the whole book and underline here and there so I get the whole context of the book, then I go back and re-read a lot more slowly. And I get what Stacy (Servant’s Life) is saying…and just so much more.

I see why it’s Nehemiah that I’m starting with. If I’m going to compare struggle to struggle, this is a great place to start. Because as hard as my life is, the people in this book define struggle. Talk about overcoming some serious challenges. Doing without. Having obstacles thrown at you from every direction.

But in the end, because they followed embraced God’s plan for their life…because they were doing His work…because God was in their corner and showed them favor…after a lot of hard work and dealing with the consequences of not only their own disobedience but of their fathers as well…

When everything and everyone seemed to be working against them…”Our God will fight for us!” (Neh 4:20)

“And when they cried out to you again, you heard from heaven, and in your compassion you delivered them time after time.” (Neh 9:28)

“For many years You were patient with them” (Neh 9:30)

“….do not let all of this hardship seem trifling in Your eyes…” (Neh 9:32)

They were “rejoicing because God had given them great joy” (Neh 12:43)

And the words that have captured my heart tonight…words that are in parentheses…something meant to de-emphasize their content…

“Our God, however, turned the curse into a blessing.” (Neh 13:2)

Embrace God’s plan for my life. Read Nehemiah. Stop comparing.

OK, so it takes me awhile to catch on. Maybe it even takes several people telling me the same thing over and over for me to get it. Possibly I have to sit down and start to write about something else before I understand how it all fits together.

 Embrace God’s plan for my life. Read Nehemiah. Stop comparing.

I know my problems aren’t going to all go away just because I finally get it. It’s very likely my life may get even harder these next few months as I deal with them. But I have a promise.

“Remember me for this also, O my God, and show mercy to me according to your great love.” (Neh 13:22)

Embrace God’s plan for my life. Read Nehemiah. Stop comparing.

 

I’m on Facebook y’all! Follow me at http://www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in Celebrate Recovery, facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did You Get That…???

  1. Mary B says:

    inspiring post. Sometimes you just have to listen to that still small voice.

    Thank you for tossing your hat into the ring at the Party Under The Big Top! I hope to see you again next week!
    #BigTopBlogParty

  2. There have been several times that I feel as though God is telling me the same message more than once. it’s almost as though it’s being made sure I hear it. Emphasis, if you will. That’s when I stop and say, Yep! Got it!

  3. Pingback: Resources to Encourage and Inspire During Difficult Times - Being Fibro Mom

Leave a Reply

