Ten Minutes…Twice A Week

writing with text

Texting has long been a life line between me and my husband. About a year ago our pastor recommended we stop talking texting each other all day and either pick up the phone and talk like with our voices and everything or wait until we get home so we have something to say to each other at night. Because obviously our communication issues were not getting better with all the texting and none of the talking…

We tried.  We said we’d try.

That’s about all I have to say about that.

We aren’t good on the phone. We aren’t good talking in person either. I’m a writer. I can write all about my feelings, answer your questions, communicate in an adult semi-grown up way…IF you give me time to process and aren’t staring at me waiting for me to talk.

So, once my husband gave in and got a smart phone, we were in like Flynn. I don’t even know what that means but I’ve heard people say it and it sounded cute, so there it is. Also, I’m just going with I think that’s a semi Tangled reference…right?

Anyway…

Now that he’s been in rehab over 30 days, he gets to make a 10 minute phone call, twice a week. Twenty minutes a week. Where we have to get to talk to each other.

It’s painful y’all.

I write him letters that seriously Shakespeare is in heaven taking notes from and I fully expect to hear my words in his next play for heaven’s version of Shakespeare in the Park.

Then we get on the phone and if the girls aren’t around to take the pressure off of me to fill up a whole ten minutes of one on one conversation, silence fills the line and I am panicking because we only have ten minutes and each second that ticks by in silence is a loud reminder that we have so much to talk about…and we still just don’t.

Because there are things I need to say to him, ask him about, figure out with him…life that is happening here…without him…decisions I don’t want to make on my own…

And those ten minutes never seem long enough, so I don’t even try…

So I write more letters and have more conversations in my head with him that I hope some day I’ll be able to have with him…

And sometimes I skip a day or two of writing so I’ll have things to talk about when he calls…except I still don’t talk about those things when he calls because well…obviously

And I keep thinking we have a whole year to figure out this communication thing….and then I think we only have about 10-12 more months to figure this communication thing out…

When really…we have our whole lives to figure it out…we’ll get there…sooner or later…I just really want it to be sooner…

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in Addiction is a family affair, Celebrate Recovery, Communicating in marriage, Dealing with relapse, facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ten Minutes…Twice A Week

  1. Pingback: » Ten Minutes…Twice A Week

  2. I get this. I would rather write/text than talk. I like talking but I struggle with interpreting responses/lack of response from people.

    I’ll pray for you and your family. This must be a challenging time.

    Thanks for sharing and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop.

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

  3. I process by writing too! It’s important to share that though (:

  4. We’re much better at texting than talking on the phone, too. Why not make a list in the week leading up to your call? Then you’d have some bullet point to keep the convo moving! Thanks so much for taking the time to link up with us this week at the #HomeMattersParty – tell a friend about us, and we hope to see everyone again next week!

  5. I totally understand this. I’m so much better as writing by communication, too. I feel like I can pay attention better by reading, as well– I get too anxious worried about where to lead the conversation next when it comes to communicating in person.

Leave a Reply

