Thankful Thursday…31 Days…A Glimpse Into Our Everyday Life…Day 8

There have been many times this year I’ve had to stop and consciously choose to be thankful. 

To be thankful for happy moments, big and even small miracles, and surprise gifts is easy. 

To find a way to be thankful for mistakes, hard times, and struggles…that is when you know true thankfulness. 

So I thought I’d share my top 3 things I am chosing to be thankful for this week. 

1) I’m thankful that when I got home from work last night around 10:30, Alex was in the kitchen making cookies and we got to sit at the kitchen table and talk and laugh. Even though she had doubled the amount of butter the recipe called for and the cookies turned out flat. Not just a little flat. Paper flat. I am thankful we could laugh over her mistake while we ate them anyway! 

  
2) I am thankful for a job that allows me to provide for my family and gives me the opportunity to travel and a work family I get to do life with. Even though it means I’m away from my family more than I would like. 

3) I am thankful my husband made the hard decision to be away from our family so he can get the help he needs. Even though it means all of the plans we had for this year had to be forgotten. 

A dear friend of mine challenged a group of us to start being thankful for the “even though” moments in our lives. Choosing to be thankful first instead of allowing your circumstance to determine your attitude is the key to choosing to find joy in all circumstances. 

Is there an “even though” moment from this week you can choose to be thankful for? 

  

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in 31 Days, Addiction, Alcoholism, Dealing with relapse, Marriage, Our Life, Recovery, Write 31 Days and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful Thursday…31 Days…A Glimpse Into Our Everyday Life…Day 8

  1. Pingback: » Thankful Thursday…31 Days…A Glimpse Into Our Everyday Life…Day 8

  2. bunkie68 says:

    What a good reminder! I don’t have a particular “even though” moment in mind from this week, but I’ll be looking for those moments going forward (because you know they’re coming!). Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  3. Simply Save says:

    What a great reminder about “even though” moments. That’s good perspective to remember. Thanks for sharing at #SmallVictoriesSundayLinkup!

Leave a Reply

