Silent Sundays…A Glimpse Into Our Everyday Life…Day 11

I know typically Silent Sunday’s have been reserved for pictures and no writing. 

I am all for that. 

I have been struggling with this whole 31 day writing challenge. 

I typically only write when I feel like I have something to say. Or if I’m feeling humorous….in my head…because we all know sometimes my funny thoughts turn into plain old awkward posts 😳😳

But I am really trying not to give up on this whole 31 days thing. I probably won’t attempt it again next year unless I come up with a really good topic. But right now, less than half way in, I feel like I need to stick with it. 

So my lack of creativity in the last couple of days got me to thinking.Um. Silent Sunday’s. It’s a real thing and I can just post a picture and not even have to write anything. 

Easy right? 

Then after a powerful message at church this morning (Watch it here)  I started thinking…I know. It’s scary. 

Silent Sunday’s. 

Isn’t that what Sunday was created for? For us to be silent. Retreat from the loud, busy, over-scheduled bustle of everyday life?

  
I can’t remember the last time I stopped and let myself be silent on a Sunday. When I wasn’t running around doing errands, getting ready for the week, playing catchup around the house. 

When what I really need to be doing is sitting quietly…Taking the time to reflect on where I am. Where I want to be. The things God has laid on my heart. The people He has prompted me to pray for. 

Also…just to rest. This year seems like its never stopped. I am emotionally and physically tired. I don’t stop to rest and renew. 

It seems selfish to take time for that right now. Even though I know it’s what my soul is longing for. 

I have no plans for next weekend. 

Except to clean out the garage, get ready to be out of town for a week, make sure the girls are ready for Halloween and All Region Choir tryouts and…write blog posts…

Ok. I have plans. 

The next weekend we’re in Missouri to see Rob. Then it’s Halloween. 

Before I know it, October will be over. 

Before I know it, I’ll have passed up the times I needed to stop and rest. 

Somehow I have to make that a priority. 

So next Sunday, if you stop by and all you see is a picture with no words, I hope you’ll take that as a sign to you to rest as well. 

We all need rest. We all need time to sit quietly with Our Father and let Him refresh us. 

Let’s make it a priority. 

Have a wonderful week y’all!

I hope to see you on  Facebook and Instagram! It’s where all the cool kids hang out 😘😘😘

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in 31 Days, Dealing with relapse, Facebook, Fall, Family, Marriage, Our Life, Prayer, Proverbs 31 wife, Write 31 Days and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Silent Sundays…A Glimpse Into Our Everyday Life…Day 11

  1. Pingback: » Silent Sundays…A Glimpse Into Our Everyday Life…Day 11

  2. Plaidfuzz says:

    I’m so glad that you decided to do 31 days this year! Your posts have blessed me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

