Raising Grateful Kids – Review and Giveaway

I found Kristen Welch’s blog, We are THAT family a few years ago and have been an avid reader ever since. Her book, Rhinestone Jesus was the first book I had ever read and then immediately bought multiple copies to share with friends and family. Kristen writes about real life, the good, the bad and the wedontreallytalkaboutthisbutwearetalkingaboutitnow…

Because I was on the launch team for Raising Grateful Kids, I got an advance copy of the book and have been devouring it for a few months now. I started highlighting immediately and several pages possibly border on highlighter abuse….because this book is that good.


To be completely honest with y’all, I did not start this book thinking our family had a good grasp on the whole grateful thing. I expected to be convicted. I expected to feel some serious mom guilt.

I did not expect to find myself…my family…our struggles…

There are some amazingly practical tips at the end of each chapter, called “Going Against the Flow” that are broken down in to parents, toddlers/preschoolers, elementary and tweens/teens. Ways that we as parents can guide ourselves and our kids, no matter what age, to put others first and be more grateful.

But…This is not an instruction manual on how to get it right all the time.

Kristen shares not just her successes in parenting, but the failures too. Isn’t that what we need as parents? Not someone telling us what to do or judging us for getting it wrong, but someone to come along beside us and say, for as many things as I think I’m doing right, here’s twice as many things I’ve done wrong…


You’ll find your favorite story to relate to…mine is the sand story in chapter 9, Where the Rubber Meets the Road. “We know hard work not only teaches kids to be grateful for what you as a parent do all day long, it also creates a work ethic in them that will carry them into adulthood.”

Like most of what Kristen shares in the book, this is not an example of her getting it completely right. It’s a mixture of good intentions, kids being kids, and a mom wondering “Whose ridiculous idea was this anyway?”


What resonated with me the most though, was “Parents who want to raise grateful kids need to start by living grateful lives.” I have never thought of myself as an ungrateful person. By society’s perspective, maybe I’m not. But when I started intentionally choosing gratitude…over entitlement…over how I wanted things to be…over how I wanted my life to look…I realized that my whining over having to clean the house…complaining about other drivers…wishing out loud we had more of this or a better that…ALL of those things look and sound like (and are) symptoms of an ungrateful heart.

The beauty of this book though is the grace. No one gets it right all the time. Most people don’t even get it right most of the time. Reading this book though will remind you that it’s ok. Because you do get it right sometimes. Sometimes in small ways…sometimes in big ways that you won’t even know are big until your kids are at school and make a decision on their own that goes against the flow – because you got it right.

You will laugh, you will cry, you will see yourself and your kids…you will find new perspectives and get confirmation that you are doing things right and you will be convicted and change some things you’re doing.

Raising Grateful Kids is full of humor, heartache, truth, perspective and hope.

Today is release day so if you haven’t pre-ordered Raising Grateful Kids by Kristen Welch yet, you can buy it at your favorite bookstore, online retailer, or at http://www.raisinggratefulkids.com.


You can also win a copy! Head over to my Facebook page and look for the #RaisingGratefulKids giveaway! Winner will be drawn Tuesday, February 2nd.

More chances to win this must read book:

You know it’s a great book when multiple people are giving the same book away at the same time! Head over to the links below for another chance to win!

We are THAT family

Leslie Ann Jones

Life in Lape Haven

I’m also linking up with other launch team members at #LookInABookClub

I’m also linking up at Tuesday Talk! and #LMMlinkup

Here’s where you can find Kristen:

Facebook  Instagram  Twitter  Blog  Pinterest

Here’s where you can find me:

Facebook   Instagram   Twitter  Pinterest

 

 

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in Book Giveaway, Book Review, christian books, Raising Grateful Kids, Uncategorized, we are that family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raising Grateful Kids – Review and Giveaway

  1. I’ve seen marketing for this book. It looks like a great read!

  2. I keep hearing wonderful things about this book! I hope I can read it soon. Thanks for sharing at the #LMMLInkup. Join us again this week. http://www.foreverjoyful.net/?p=830

Leave a Reply

