Devotions from the Front Porch

I am so excited for my friend, Stacy! Today is release day for her new book, Devotions from the Front Porch.


I’ve had it for a couple of weeks and it quickly became my new favorite morning read!

I fell in love with the cover before I even had it in my hands – and when I showed the beautiful hard cover book to my husband he had the same thought I did – THAT is the kind of front porch we need!

I consider myself an honorary southerner. I’ve lived in the south more than half my life now.

I make sweet tea that would give a northerner a toothache after one drink.


“Y’all” has replaced “you guys” in my everyday speaking. And writing.

I wear flip flops more months than I don’t.

I don’t make blackeyed peas and cornbread, but my husband does!

Also. I married a southerner. And we’re raising three southern girls.

So I completely relate to Stacy’s southern front porch devotions.

She mixes in a lot of southern front porch living with even more living in The Word.

You’ll read a devotion and remember a moment you shared with your own family.


You’ll see one of the beautiful illustrations and bug your husband to get busy making that swing for your front porch. Or build a front porch so he can build that swing. Whichever.

You’ll read verses that know exactly where you are right at that moment and you’ll snuggle back under your blanket and talk with Jesus like you talk with your best girl friend.

When you finish the book because maybe you read more than one or five, whatever, devotions in one sitting because obviously Stacy has been sitting on your porch and not her own and somehow knew exactly how to join God’s word with the reality of southern living and you can’t even put the book down…then you’ll set it on your coffee table because it is so beautiful and a great conversation starter.


Then one day…ok. The same day…You’ll pick the book back up and start it all over again and you’ll read it with fresh eyes and something you can’t believe you missed the first time will jump out at you and you’ll start reading it through again.

This is a book you’re going to want to grab a few of and share with your sister-in-law and best girlfriends and pastor’s wife.

And as luck would have it, you can head over to my Facebook page and enter to win a copy for you and a friend!

If you can’t wait, click over to your favorite online book retailer and order one or ten to be delivered right to your own front porch.

Also. Check out Stacy who writes on Facebook  at Servant’s Life – you’ll want to read her series on Living Unafraid or Mom Talk Monday over on her blog at Servant’s Life!

I’m linking up!

Literacy Musing Mondays

Small Victories Sunday Linkup

Tuesday Talks

Inspiration Thursday

About angelastricklin

Thanks for stopping by! If you're on FB, follow me: www.facebook.com/lifewithgreeneyes Instagram @angelastricklin Twitter @angelastricklin Pinterest @Angela Stricklin I'm a wife, mom of three girls and one fur baby. By day, I'm an HR manager to pay for all things girly girl and occasional fur baby treats. I add things to my Amazon wish list instead of my cart because my girls cost All. The. Money. Instead of sleeping, you can find me writing about faith, marriage, parenting and my favorite things on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , and Pinterest.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Book Giveaway, Book Review, christian books, Facebook, Mom of girls, Our Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Devotions from the Front Porch

  1. Have to know what state you lived in before you were a Southerner… 🙂

    This was such a lively post. Love your writing style. 🙂

  2. Stacy says:

    I’m from Alliance.

  3. I love this! Adding to my wish list ASAP. Thank you so much for sharing this with the Small Victories Sunday Linkup.

  4. Thanks for sharing about this beautiful book. I’m a southern girl, too, even though I live elsewhere now. I can tell the illustrations are beautiful from your pictures. Thanks for joining us at the #LMMLinkup.

  5. lelaburris says:

    How exciting for your friend! Her book is beautiful and that porch is amazing! It looks so cozy. Heading over to your FB page to enter the contest now. Thanks for sharing at Inspiration Thursday!

Leave a Reply

